Creating and Managing Scenarios

ClearFactr's Scenario Mode is dedicated to making scenario creation and management easier than ever. And this, of course, is where ClearFactr's scenario analysis features all start.

On the main toolbar, the Scenarios button puts the system in Scenarios Mode, where you'll see this toolbar:

null

From here, you'll create, review and manage all of the scenarios associated with your plan.

The most important behavior of Scenarios Mode is this: The system remembers the state of your plan when you enter Scenarios Mode so it can automatially revert you to that state when you leave Scenarios Mode. It does this via the concept of a Bookmark.

As you make changes to the plan in Scenarios Mode you can click the “Save Scenario” button at any time and the state of the plan is permanently captured under the name you give it. These Scenarios become the content that drive the rest of the scenario analysis tools.

On the toolbar you’ll find the Bookmark and Revert buttons, which work together. More on those in a minute. You’ll also see a dropdown list from which you can select any existing scenario and review it. Upon selecting a scenario, the Delete button will light up. Deleting a scenario does just that — it doesn’t affect your originating plan in any way.

What’s super powerful about Scenario Mode is that you can create bookmarks within scenario mode and revert to them at any time. This allows you to explore a trail of plan variations, save the results, return to the beginning of the trail with one click, then go in a different direction, all without disturbing anything in the original state of the plan.

Let's walk through a simple example...

Our extremely simple plan has two driver rows and two result rows. The first result row is simply the sum of the two drivers. The second result row is the running accumulation of the first. Notice the total accumulation in the lower right corner of $1,000,000. We also have ancestry highlighting turned on to show where the $1,000,000 is coming from.

null

As we enter Scenarios Mode via the main toolbar, the Scenarios Mode toolbar (shown above) that appears below the main toolbar. Note that the Scenario Mode button in the main toolbar has turned yellow, too.

We’ll make a bunch of changes to the Eastern District's sales data. The accumulation in the lower right corner is now $2,000,000. Clicking the Save Scenario button brings up a simple panel in which we give a name and description (optionally) to the scenario.

null

Clicking Save adds the scenario to the dropdown list and makes it available to the rest of the system. The Delete button has also enabled because the scenario has been selected within the list. Here's where things stand:

null

Now we’ll click the Revert button on the toolbar. Notice all the numbers revert to their original values — see the $1,000,000 in the corner, again.

null

Using the Bookmark Feature

Let’s start to configure some more scenarios, but planning ahead, we want two of them to share some stuff in common. We’ve changed the numbers first half of the year, resulting in an accumulation of $1,500,000 in the lower right corner, like this:

null

We want to be able to get back to that state very easily — so we click the Bookmark button. Now we complete our changes and Save another scenario.

null

Clicking the Revert button brings us back to that intermediate state — notice the $1,500,000 in the corner, not the very original $1,000,000.

null

We’ll make another scenario and save that:

null

We’re done — so we’ll exit Scenario Mode via the button in the main toolbar. Our plan now reverts back to the very original state, with $1,000,000 in the corner.

null

Once you have at least one scenario saved, ClearFactr's Scenario Comparison tools come to life, like this:

null

Learn more about comparing two scenarios in detail.

Learn more about comparing multiple scenarios.